2010 Diplomat of the Year Awards

Heads of Mission from over 80 countries attended Diplomat magazine’s 2010 Annual Awards Ceremony at the Hyatt Regency London – The Churchill . The 63-year-old foreign affairs magazine presented 10 awards to some of the most influential overseas Ambassadors and High Commissioners based in London. In its second year, the event is proving to become a popular and lively evening in the diplomatic calendar.

The event was hosted by Lord Digby Jones Kt who added his usual warmth and enthusiasm for foreign nations working together to the evening.  Quoting Harry Truman’s saying: ‘It’s amazing what can be achieved when you don’t care who gets the credit’, Lord Jones pointed out that diplomats are the ones who rarely are given the credit for the work they do.

In his introductory speech, Hugo de Blocq van Kuffeler, the Publisher of Diplomat stated: ‘Our vision has always been to produce an awards ceremony that recognised the outstanding work and achievements of the diplomatic community in London. In our second year, we have identified 10 categories which we hope to grow over the years in recognising the different levels of diplomacy and present awards for them all.’

10 awards were presented, in categories such as Diplomat of the Year for Asia and Distinguished Contribution to Diplomacy. The Embassy of the Czech Republic left the evening with two awards – one for Deputy Head of Mission of the Year for Mr Miroslav Kolatek  Minister-Counsellor, and the posthumous award to the previous Ambassador Mr Jan Winkler who tragically died in February of 2009.

Mr de Blocq van Kuffeler continued, ’Because of the global challenges facing us today, Diplomacy is as important as ever. Despite the conveniences of modern technology; the tact, persuasiveness, influence and guile of a great Diplomat is far more powerful and effective than an e-mail or a letter. Diplomacy is the brain of a nation. It has been said that the quality of a nation's diplomacy gives it ‘direction and weight'. And so it is important that we appreciate the great conductors of Diplomacy this evening. ‘

The evening was sponsored by Jaguar who had the new Jaguar XJ greeting all guests as they arrived. It seems that this model is set to be a favourite for the Diplomatic community with a number of pre-launch sales.

Cleave and Co produced the unique awards for the winners and IDS produced the drinks for the evening.

The List of the Winners:

Diplomat of the Year from Asia: His Excellency Mr Michael Eng Cheng Teo, The High Commissioner of Singapore

Diplomat of the Year from Europe:
Made posthumously to His Excellency Mr Jan Winkler, The Ambassador of the Czech Republic

Diplomat of the Year from the Americas, (USA, Canada, Central America & Caribbean):
His Excellency Mr James R. Wright, The High Commissioner of Canada

Diplomat of the Year from South America:
His Excellency Mr Ricardo Luna, The Ambassador of Peru

Diplomat of the Year from Africa:
Her Excellency Mrs Joan Rwabyomere, The High Commissioner of Uganda

Diplomat of the Year from the Middle East:
Mr Abdulmuhaimen Al-Oraibi, The Charge d'Affaires of Iraq

Outstanding Contribution to the Consular Corps:
Guy Van Glabeke – Second Secretary, Embassy of Belgium

Distinguished Contribution by a Junior Diplomat: Neil Helbraun – Third Secretary, Embassy of the United States of America

Distinguished Contribution to Diplomacy: His Excellency Mr. Laleshwar Singh, The High Commissioner for Guyana

Deputy Head of Mission of the Year: Mr Miroslav Kolatek – Minister-Counsellor, Embassy of the Czech Republic