You are here: Issues Arrow 2011 Arrow June Arrow Diplomat of the Year Awards

Diplomat of the Year Awards

Heads of Mission from over 85 countries attended Diplomat magazine’s 2011 annual Awards Ceremony at the Hyatt Regency London – The Churchill in Portman Square on Monday 16 May. Diplomat  presented 12 awards to some of the most influential diplomats based in the UK. Guests were treated to a champagne reception and delicious canapés prepared by the chefs at the hotel.

Host of the event, Diplomat’s Publisher Hugo de Blocq van Kuffeler, stated in his introductory speech: ‘Despite the conveniences of modern technology, the tact, persuasiveness, influence and guile of a great diplomat is far more powerful and effective than an e-mail or a letter. Diplomacy is the brain of a nation. It has been said that the quality of a nation’s diplomacy gives it direction and weight. And so it is important that we appreciate the great conductors of diplomacy this evening.’

The popular award of the evening was the winner for ‘Diplomat of the Year from the Americas’ (Canada, USA, Central America & Caribbean), which went to High Commissioner for Belize, Her Excellency Ms Kamela Palma. The Japanese Ambassador accepted his award for ‘Diplomat of the Year from Asia’ on behalf of the people of Japan in the wake of one of the world’s worst natural disasters since the end of World War II. Winners thanked Diplomat magazine for recognising the achievements of overseas Heads of Mission based in London.

The evening was sponsored by Jaguar Landrover - who had the new Jaguar XJ and Range Rover Vogue TDV8 greeting guests as they arrived outside the hotel - along with BMG Foundation, BUPA and Worley Parsons.Cleave and Co produced the unique awards for the winners and International Diplomatic Supplies provided the drinks for the evening. Mr de Blocq van Kuffeler thanked all the sponsors for their continued support of the magazine.






Winners from the evening are as follows:

Distinguished Contribution to Diplomacy in London

Wilton Park

Diplomat of the Year from the Middle East

Dr Afnan Al-Shuaiby

Secretary-General and Chief Executive of the Arab-British Chamber of Commerce

Diplomat of the Year from Africa

HRH Prince Seeiso Bereng Seeiso, High Commissioner for Lesotho

Diplomat of the Year from Asia

His Excellency Mr Keiichi Hayashi, Ambassador of Japan

Diplomat of the Year from Eurasia

His Excellency Mr Otabek Akbarov, Ambassador of Uzbekistan

Diplomat of the Year from Europe

His Excellency Mr Johan Verbeke, Ambassador of Belgium

Diplomat of the Year from the Americas

(Canada, USA, Mexico, Central America & Caribbean)

Her Excellency Ms Kamela Palma, High Commissioner for Belize

Diplomat of the Year from South America

His Excellency Mr Roberto Jaguaribe, Ambassador of Brazil

Deputy Head ofMission of the Year

Ms Klára Breuer-Rudas, Embassy of Hungary

Outstanding Contribution to Women In Diplomacy

Her Excellency Ms Ruth Elizabeth Rouse, High Commissioner for Grenada

Outstanding Contribution to the Consular Corps

Mr Bogdan Kolarov, Embassy of Bulgaria

Young Diplomat of the Year

Mr Marwan Francis, Embassy of Lebanon